Eliud N. Kinuthia, CBS,OGW, HSC


The Chairperson National Police Service Commission is a transformational leader and people management specialist with 20 years’ career experience out of which he has spent the last 10 years leading reforms in the National Police Service. He brings on board to the National Police Service a passion and hands on experience in Police reforms having been the author of the latest policy framework and strategy on reorganization of the National Police Service, provision of decent and affordable housing to Police Officers and integration of Police with communities and neighborhoods.

The Chairperson is a graduate of the University of Nairobi with a first Masters Degree in Development Studies and is pursuing a second Masters Degree in Business Administration from the Strathmore Business School. He holds a Pan African E-MBA Certificate from IESE University of Navarra, Barcelona Spain. In his undergraduate degree he studied Bachelor of Education specializing in Mathematics Statistics Major. He went to Pre-School and Primary School at Uziwa Primary School in 1978 and later proceeded to Mpeketoni Secondary School in 1988. He began demonstrating his leadership competencies and skills during his Secondary School days where he rose to the rank of Deputy School Captain in 1992. The Chairperson comes from Lamu County, Mpeketoni Sub County, Uziwa Sub Location.

The Chairperson has a wide network and goodwill from members of the Police profession and senior Police commanders who he has had an opportunity to work and interact with during his tenure as Advisor, National Police Service Transformation. Outside the National Police Service, the Chairperson has worked with the Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government under the bilateral partnership programme in Security Sector Reforms including DFID, SIDA, USG, UNODC, Police Reforms Working Group and Jamii Thabiti Community Security programme. Previously he has also worked with World Bank, UNDP, FAWE and CCF in various other capacities.

Copyright © 2023 National Police Service Commission. All Rights Reserved.